Crono

21 Oct

Haledire filling a request of Crono from Chrono Trigger.

Download!

4 Responses to “Crono”

  1. AngelicJoker October 22, 2010 at 9:33 AM #

    Great likeness. Any chance you will do the other characters like Frog, Marle, Robo, etc?

    • Haledire October 22, 2010 at 10:56 AM #

      Actually, I did make an attempt at Ayla. I’ll submit that later (would’ve done it at the same time, but I was short on time when I set up everything for Crono). I did a straight transfer of the head sprite of Marle, but it looks somewhat awkward I think, so I need to do a little more tweaking on it.

      • AngelicJoker October 22, 2010 at 6:35 PM #

        How are you creating the sprites? If there any tools to help automate the process, I’d try my hand at it. I love this game because I like having the custom characters. I only wish I had the talent to do it myself.

  2. Haledire October 22, 2010 at 10:06 PM #

    I made myself an indexed palette in Gimp via color sampling a screenshot of the in-game palette. This lets me find a sprite sheet, pick a color with the eyedropper, then go to my file with the indexed colors and just draw with the color. This converts the color I grabbed to the nearest color available, saving me some of the guesswork on what is closest.

    When I’m done re-drawing the sprite, I flatten the head layer to the palette layer. All I have to do is use the Select by color tool at a threshold of 1 (think “select similar” in Photoshop if you’re more accustomed to it) and select everything on the sprite until the whole head is selected. This also selects all of the colors in the palette I keep off to the side (see the screenshot of the different angles of the head I submitted).

    Now I know where to find the colors in the palette that I used and the shape of the head is ready. All that’s left is recopying everything in-game.

Leave a Reply

